BOXED SET: 3 paperbacks


   Order Code: ING590    ISBN : 9781603093958
Connect with a representative to create a custom curriculum for your district.
This provocative graphic novel–style memoir adds a new dimension to the striking personal account of Congressman Lewis, a key figure in the civil rights movement, and his lifelong struggle for civil and human rights.

Recounting Lewis’s life through flashbacks on the day of President Barack Obama’s inauguration, the books simultaneously examine the distance traveled since the days of Jim Crow and segregation while depicting the highs and lows of the broader civil rights movement. Among the moments depicted in Book One: Lewis’s youth, meeting with Martin Luther King, Jr., the Nashville Student Movement, and lunch counter sit-ins. Book Two goes on to cover events such as the Freedom Rides, the effort to register African Americans in the South to vote, increasing violence against civil rights activists, Birmingham protests, and the March on Washington. Book Three concludes the trilogy by recounting pivotal events such as the Birmingham church bombing, Freedom Summer, "Bloody Sunday," and the signing of the Voting Rights Act. Note: some racist epithets.

Read More

6½" x 9½"


Top Shelf


7 and up



Titles in this series (3) :