Select your Materials


   Order Code: PF150DV   
Connect with a representative to create a custom curriculum for your district.
Chronicling the period from 1954 to the mid-1980s, this award-winning series on civil rights in America is a superlative history of the modern struggle for equality.

Riveting news footage and dramatic eyewitness accounts bring to life the people, both black and white, who have challenged America to live up to its promise that “all men are created equal.” From little-known personal efforts to historic national events, the powerful documentary follows the fight for freedom and equal rights from the back of the bus to political, economic, and social empowerment. Examines such topics as Brown v. Board of Education, integration in Little Rock, Martin Luther King Jr. and the March on Washington, the Black Consciousness Movement, Malcolm X, the election of black mayors in major cities, and the struggle for equal opportunity in jobs and education. The school edition chronicles the period from 1954 to the mid-1980s; its DVDs include chapter breaks for easy classroom use, and feature bonus materials, including biographies, U.S. population statistics, and more. The school edition’s programs are:

  • Awakenings (1954–1956)
  • Fighting Back (1957–1962)
  • Ain’t Scared of Your Jails (1960–1961)
  • No Easy Walk (1961–1963)
  • Mississippi: Is This America? (1962–1964)
  • Bridge to Freedom (1965)
  • The Time Has Come (1964–1966)
  • Two Societies (1965–1968)
  • Power! (1966–1968)
  • The Promised Land (1967–1968)
  • Ain’t Gonna Shuffle No More (1964–1972)
  • A Nation of Law? (1968–1971)
  • The Keys to the Kingdom (1974–1980)
  • Back to the Movement (1979–mid-1980s)
Read More





7 and up


Black-and-white and color

Run Time

Total time: 14 hours